Menu

Creation #16

Nicolas Bernier

Collection of scientific instruments of Rennes 1 University [Rennes]

Nicolas Bernier is a multidisciplinary artist that creates installations and performances that evolve around several subjects : dance, drama or animated films. Tough eclectic, his artistic preoccupation remain the same : a balance between intellectual and sensual, organic sound sources and digital processes. The Nicolas Bernier’s touch creates friction between acoustic elements and electronic sources with a specific concern on textures and grain. Basically, it is an electronic music that originates from objects from the past ( typing machine, tuning forks, memories of sound lanscapes) yet arranged with contemporary tools.

The collection of scientific instruments of Rennes 1 University is kept on different locations at the Beaulieu Campus in Rennes. About a thousand instruments from the 19th century and more than 3000 contemporary instruments from 1740 to 2012 compose this collection and enable to illustrate numerous scientific phenomena: chemistry, physics, biology, electronics, IT, mathematics, etc.).

In October 2013 Nicolas Bernier took several days to explore that collection. Damien Simon, who works at Le Bon Accueil, told Nicolas Bernier about this collection, so he decided to take a look at it for Metropole Electroni[k]. The first phase of creation enabled him to record sounds from ancient tuning forks and kept him working around this instrument. On 16 October 2014 took place the presentation of his piece during the Art & Science Night of Maintenant Festival. The audience discovered his creation during the sound installation and also through headphones.

Nicolas Bernier : http://www.nicolasbernier.com / https://vimeo.com/113842840

The collection of scientific instruments of Rennes 1 University: https://www.univ-rennes1.fr/les-collections-universitaires

This residency received support from Rennes Metropole and Rennes 1 University.

Collection d’instrument de l’Université de Rennes 1
Campus Beaulieu
263 avenue du Général Leclerc
35000 Rennes

Metropole Electroni[k]

Discover others sound postcards

#10

Lynn Pook

Retirement home of Cleunay [Rennes]

Although Lynn Pook is specialized in plastic arts, she also studied dance, sculpture, fine arts and took media courses. Lynn Pook’s work takes its roots in the observation of bodies, individuals, their perceptions; through her researches, she questions the links …

#02

Sébastien Roux

Le Bon Accueil [Rennes]

Sébastien Roux is a French experimental electronic music composer. He also worked as a music assistant for composers Gérard Pesson and Georges Aperghis at IRCAM (Institut de Recherche et Coordination Acoustique/Musique), a French institute for science, music, sound, and avant-garde …

#17

Bertùf

Crèche Cannelle [Rennes]

Composer of electronic and electroacoustic music, Bertùf produces a minimalist music where electronic and concrete sounds are mixed together. He has been collaborating for the past fifteen years with theatre directors in France and Germany. He also develops sound devices/installations …

Menu
ID1C8957_Corr-NB

Création #16

Nicolas Bernier

Collection d'instuments scientifiques de l'Université de Rennes 1 [Rennes]

Nicolas Bernier est un artiste pluridisciplinaire qui crée des installations et des performances sonores tout en travaillant autour de plusieurs disciplines : la danse, le théâtre ou encore le film d’animation. Au milieu de cet éclectisme, ses préoccupations artistiques restent constantes : un équilibre entre le cérébral et le sensuel, et entre les sources sonores organiques et les traitements numériques. Le son de Nicolas Bernier créé des frictions entre des éléments acoustiques et des sources électroniques avec un intérêt pour les textures et le grain. C’est une musique électronique faite à partir d’objets du passé (machine à écrire, des diapasons, et des souvenirs de paysages sonores) et retravaillée à l’aide d’outils contemporains.

Les collections d’instruments scientifiques de l’Université de Rennes 1 sont conservées sur plusieurs sites du campus de Beaulieu à Rennes. Elles comprennent environ un millier d’instruments du 19ème siècle et plus de 3000 instruments contemporains datant de 1740 à 2012 et permettent d’illustrer de façon pédagogique de nombreux phénomènes scientifiques : chimie, physique, biologie, électronique, informatique, mathématiques, etc.). 

Nicolas Bernier a exploré ces collections pendant plusieurs jours en octobre 2013. Ayant été mis au fait de cette collection par Damien Simon du Centre d’art Le Bon Accueil, il décida d’entreprendre une première phase de recherche-création dans le cadre de Métropole Electroni[k]. Ce travail lui a permis de collecter les sons de diapasons anciens et de poursuivre ainsi sa recherche sonore autour de cet instrument. Une restitution de sa pièce a été proposé dans le cadre de la Nuit Arts & Sciences du Festival Maintenant le 16 octobre 2014. Les auditeurs ont ainsi pu découvrir la création autour d’une installation sonore et à travers une écoute aux casques. 

Nicolas Bernier : www.nicolasbernier.com / vimeo.com/113842840

Les collections d’instruments scientifiques de l’Université de Rennes 1 : www.univ-rennes1.fr/les-collections-universitaires

Cette résidence a reçu le soutien de Rennes Métropole et de l’Université de Rennes 1 (commission de culture scientifique et technique et service culturel).

Collection d’instrument de l’Université de Rennes 1
Campus Beaulieu
263 avenue du Général Leclerc
35000 Rennes

Metropole Electroni[k]

Découvrez d'autres cartes sonores

felicia-atkinson-ek

#03

Félicia Atkinson

Hôtel de Rennes Métropole [Rennes]

Félicia Atkinson vit et travaille dans le massif des Bauges en Savoie. Son travail mêle l’improvisation, la contemplation et des créations in situ a travers différentes techniques : création sonore, installations, écriture ou encore peinture. Elle codirige avec Bartolomé Sanson les …

mathias-delplanque-ek

#08

Mathias Delplanque

Faculté des Métiers [Bruz]

Mathias Delplanque est un artiste pluridisciplinaire formé à l’École Nationale d’Arts de Cergy Pontoise où il a pratiqué la sculpture, avant de se diriger vers la musique. Il signe dès lors de nombreuses critiques musicales sur plusieurs revues et travaille …

jean-philippe-renoult-ek

#05

Jean-Philippe Renoult

Médiathèque Théodore Monod [Betton]

Jean-Philippe Renoult (né à Paris en 1963) est un auteur, compositeur et artiste sonore basé à Paris. Il a travaillé pour les radios publiques notamment France Culture pendant plus de 15 ans. Il pratique depuis de nombreuses années la technique …