Menu

Creation #07

Herman Kolgen

Gare SNCF [Rennes]

Herman Kolgen is a multidisciplinary artist from Quebec; he is mostly famous for his audiovisual creations. He lives and works in Montreal and shows his projects all around the world. He actively focuses on the relation between sound and image by creating installations, audiovisual works, performances and sound sculptures.

The Gare SNCF de Rennes (Rennes railway station) is situated in the south of the city center. The building was completed in 1857 in order to receive the Paris-Brest railway. Then it was completely renovated in 1992 by the architect Thierry Le Berre to launch the TGV Atlantique. The railway station as it is nowadays has a real estate facility with offices, services, a second access from the south, and connections with other means of transportation (buses, subway) making it a major transport hub of Rennes.

Herman Kolgen went all over the railway station in October 2010, equipped with several –sometimes hidden– microphones. He worked in public areas as well as restricted ones, and along the rails. He also recorded texts read by Dominique Godderis, a long-standing friend of his. During the presentation of his work, Herman Kolgen made use of his device Geographic Words so as to spatialize sounds with speakers located among the audience. Gares & Connexions offered to set the occurrences of this performance at 1am and 2am; magical and extraordinary moments of the railway happened then.

This residency received support from Rennes Métropole, SNCF Gares & Connexions and from the Délégation Générale du Québec à Paris.

Gare SNCF de Rennes
19 place de la Gare
35000 Rennes

www.kolgen.net/projects/geographic-words

Metropole Electroni[k]

Metropole Electroni[k]

Metropole Electroni[k]

Metropole Electroni[k]

See the Flickr gallery

Discover others sound postcards

#05

Jean-Philippe Renoult

Médiathèque Théodore Monod [Betton]

Jean-Philippe Renoult (born in Paris, 1963) is an author, composer and sound artist located in Paris. He has been working for public radios (particularly France Culture) for over 15 years. His era of specialization is field recording. As a writer, …

#04

Aymeric de Tapol

Le Diapason [Rennes]

Aymeric de Tapol is a composer who lives and works in Brussels. He writes scores for contemporary dance projects, cinema or radio ones. He aims to tell stories through his audio creations and recordings. The Diapason is located in the …

#06

Dinahbird

Les Champs Libres [Rennes]

DinahBird is an English artist who makes radio programs, audio creations, sound tracks of movies and sound installations. Her works were broadcasted on radio BBC 4, radio BBC 3, the workshop of radio creation on France Culture, Echo FM, and …

Menu

Création #07

Herman Kolgen

Gare SNCF [Rennes]

Herman Kolgen est un artiste pluridisciplinaire québécois reconnu pour ses créations audiovisuelles. Il vit et travaille à Montréal et présente ses projets à travers le monde. Il travaille activement sur la relation entre le son et l’image à travers la création d’installations, d’œuvres audiovisuelles, de performances et de sculptures sonores.

La gare SNCF de Rennes est située au sud du centre-ville. Sa création remonte à 1857 lors de l’arrivée dans la ville de la ligne de Paris-Montparnasse à Brest. Le site a été entièrement réaménagé en 1992 par l’architecte Thierry Le Berre pour la mise en service du TGV Atlantique faisant émerger ainsi un ensemble immobilier de bureaux, de services, un second accès par le Sud, et des correspondances avec les autres systèmes de transport la prolongeant (gare routière, accès direct au métro). C’est un pôle d’échange majeur de la ville.

Herman Kolgen a parcouru la gare de Rennes en octobre 2010, équipé de quelques micros parfois dissimulés. Il a travaillé dans les parties publiques mais également le long des voies et dans les parties réservées aux salariés. Il a par ailleurs enregistré des textes lus par Dominique Godderis, une amie de longue date. Lors de la restitution au public, Herman Kolgen a utilisé son dispositif Geographic Words afin de proposer une diffusion sonore spatialisée avec des hauts parleurs placés au sein du public. Sur proposition de Gares & Connexions, la restitution au public et aux personnels a eu lieu à 1h et 2h du matin dans la gare pour un moment magique et à part dans la vie de ce site.

Cette résidence a reçu le soutien de Rennes Métropole, de SNCF Gares & Connexions et l’appui de la Délégation Générale du Québec à Paris.

Gare SNCF de Rennes
19 place de la Gare
35000 Rennes

www.kolgen.net/projects/geographic-words

Metropole Electroni[k]

Metropole Electroni[k]

Metropole Electroni[k]

Metropole Electroni[k]

Voir la galerie photos Flickr

Découvrez d'autres cartes sonores

#12

Philippe Morvan

Imprimeries Ouest-France [Chantepie]

Philippe Morvan est un activiste de la scène des musiques électroniques à Rennes depuis de nombreuses années : animateur pendant 18 années de l’émission La Peau Des Héros sur la radio Canal B, DJ et musicien avec plus d’une centaine …

#06

Dinahbird

Les Champs Libres [Rennes]

DinahBird est une artiste anglaise qui réalise des programmes radiophoniques, des créations audio, des bandes son de films et des installations sonores. Ses œuvres ont été diffusées sur BBC radio 4, BBC radio 3, l’atelier de création radiophonique sur France …

#11

Robert Henke

Aéroport Rennes Bretagne [St-Jacques-de-la-Lande]

Renouant avec l’héritage des pionniers d’une musique électronique visionnaire, Robert Henke nourrit son travail d’une recherche sur les outils et la technologie, créant ses propres instruments et participant activement au développement de l’un des logiciels actuels les plus appréciés des …