Menu

Creation #09

Mira Calix

CADA [Rennes]

Mirax Calix from her real name Chantal Passamonte, is one of the rare women on the roster of Warp Records, the historic and reference English music label in terms of electronic music. Mira Calix has been living in London for many years now but still has managed to keep a form of aesthetic and music of her own. Although her earlier music is almost exclusively electronic in nature, in more recent years, she has incorporated classical orchestration into her work for installation pieces, film soundtracks, theatre and opera. Mira has been commissioned to write new works for the Liverpool Philharmonic-Ensemble 10/10, the Royal Shakespeare Company, the Aldeburgh Festival, Bang On A Can, London Sinfonietta, Opera North and The Manchester International Festival amongst others. After spending her childhood in South Africa, Mira flew to the UK capital where she discovered electronic music and Indie rock. She first worked for music labels and then for Warp Records where she first hold a position in the communication department. In 1997, she left the office as a staff member to start a new entry as an artist and then became one of the spokesperson of Warp.

The CADA (Centre for Asylum Seekers of Rennes) offers asylum seekers a place to stay while their case is under consideration to get the refugee status. This center provides an accommodation as well as an administrative and social follow-up but also financial and food assistance.

Mira Calix created her sound postcard entitled with love from CADA, from October 3-8, 2011. She walked through the place to meet the persons sheltered, as she aimed to talk with families and children and thus create a poetic history of the place. The sound postcard was presented to the public within the framework of the festival organized by the Electroni[k] organization within the CADA.

This residence received support of Rennes Métropole and the CADA of Rennes.

CADA
22 rue Bahon Rault – CS 76905
35069 Rennes

Discover others sound postcards

#12

Philippe Morvan

Ouest-France Printing shop [Chantepie]

Philippe Morvan has been an active member of the Rennes electronic music scene for several years now ; he presented a radio show called La Peau des Héros (Under the Heros’ skin) for 18 years on Canal Band performed more than …

#01

Eddie Ladoire

The Epi Condorcet [St-Jacques-de-la-Lande]

Eddie Ladoire’s work goes between the acoustic creation, music research and fine arts. Eddie Ladoire turns the everyday-kind-of-noises into music through numerical treatment. Thus he creates a new and intimate atmosphere with abstract and familiar components. The Epi Condorcet is …

#16

Nicolas Bernier

Collection of scientific instruments of Rennes 1 University [Rennes]

Nicolas Bernier is a multidisciplinary artist that creates installations and performances that evolve around several subjects : dance, drama or animated films. Tough eclectic, his artistic preoccupation remain the same : a balance between intellectual and sensual, organic sound sources …

Menu
mira-calix-ek

Création #09

Mira Calix

CADA [Rennes]

Mira Calix, de son vrai nom Chantal Passamonte, est une des rares femmes présentes sur le label anglais Warp Records, label historique et référence en matière de musiques électroniques. Installée à Londres depuis de nombreuses années, Mira Calix a su cultiver une esthétique et une approche de la musique qui lui sont propres. Bien qu’à l’origine ses créations musicales soient presque exclusivement électroniques, elle a incorporé l’orchestration classique dans son travail depuis plusieurs années pour des installations, de la musique de film, et des propositions pour le théâtre et l’opéra. Mira a récemment écrit de nouvelles œuvres pour l’ensemble philharmonique de Liverpool, la Royal Shakespeare Company, le festival Aldeburgh, la London Sinfonietta ou encore l’Opera North. Après une enfance en Afrique du Sud, Mira rejoint la capitale londonienne où elle découvre la musique électronique et l’indie rock. Elle travaille d’abord dans des maisons de disques puis chez Warp Records où elle occupe à ses débuts un poste en communication. En 1997, elle quitte les bureaux du label anglais pour y refaire son entrée du côté des artistes et devenir une des porte-paroles de Warp.

Le CADA (Centre d’Accueil de Demandeurs d’Asile de Rennes) offre aux demandeurs d’asile un lieu d’accueil durant l’étude de leur dossier afin d’obtenir le statut de réfugié. Cet accueil prévoit leur hébergement, ainsi qu’un suivi administratif, un suivi social et une aide financière alimentaire.   

Mira Calix a réalisé sa carte postale sonore intitulée with love from CADA, du 3 au 8 octobre 2011. Elle a parcouru le lieu à la rencontre des personnes accueillies, son objectif étant d’échanger avec les familles et les enfants et de créer avec les éléments recueillis une histoire poétique du lieu. La carte postale sonore a été proposée au public dans le cadre du festival de l’association Electroni[k] au sein du CADA.

Cette résidence a reçu le soutien de Rennes Métropole et du CADA de Rennes.

CADA
22 rue Bahon Rault – CS 76905
35069 Rennes

Découvrez d'autres cartes sonores

jean-philippe-renoult-ek

#05

Jean-Philippe Renoult

Médiathèque Théodore Monod [Betton]

Jean-Philippe Renoult (né à Paris en 1963) est un auteur, compositeur et artiste sonore basé à Paris. Il a travaillé pour les radios publiques notamment France Culture pendant plus de 15 ans. Il pratique depuis de nombreuses années la technique …

lynn-pook-ek

#10

Lynn Pook

Maison de retraite de Cleunay [Rennes]

Plasticienne, Lynn Pook a également étudié la danse, la sculpture, ainsi que les arts et médias. La pratique de Lynn Pook prend racine dans l’observation du corps, de l’individu et de ses perceptions et recherches naissent alors des dispositifs qui interrogent …

ID1C8957_Corr-NB

#16

Nicolas Bernier

Collection d'instuments scientifiques de l'Université de Rennes 1 [Rennes]

Nicolas Bernier est un artiste pluridisciplinaire qui crée des installations et des performances sonores tout en travaillant autour de plusieurs disciplines : la danse, le théâtre ou encore le film d’animation. Au milieu de cet éclectisme, ses préoccupations artistiques restent constantes …