Menu

Creation #03

Félicia Atkinson

Hôtel de Rennes Métropole [Rennes]

Félicia Atkinson lives and works in the Bauges Mountains, in Savoy. Her work puts together improvisation, contemplation, and creations through several approaches: sound creation, installations, writing and painting. She co-runs the Shelter Press imprint with Bartolomé Sanson and teaches art at ESAAA (École Supérieur d’Arts de l’Agglomération d’Annecy).

L’Hôtel de Rennes Métropole is located downtown Rennes. This 100 meters-long building has been designed by the architects Patrick Berger and Jacques Anziutti. Since 2007 it has hold the services of Rennes and its suburb area. Rennes Métropole was created in 2000 and currently gathers 43 municipalities and more than 400 000 inhabitants.

In October 2009, Félicia Atkinson went all over the Hôtel de Rennes Métropole for a week. During her residency, she listened, recorded, mapped, made up and created a musical work. The result brings to mind the vastness of the place, which was incompletely occupied at this time. She named the work Poings serrés (clenched fists). The artists also mentioned “a minimal tribute, in grayscale, to Aurélie Nemours’s work and to Breton skies”.

This residency received support from Rennes Métropole.

L’Hôtel de Rennes Métropole
4 avenue Henri Fréville – CS 20723
35207 Rennes cedex 2

Discover others sound postcards

#13

Bérenger Recoules

Rennes 2 University [Rennes]

Bérenger Recoules is an artist located in Nantes. He is a sound designer and creates scenery out of sound. His era of specialization is the transformation of locations into sound creations and the thought of how sounds create emotions to …

#11

Robert Henke

Rennes Airport [St-Jacques-de-la-Lande]

Like
 pioneers
 of
 a
 visionary
 electronic
 music, Robert
 Henke
 likes
 to
 enrich
 his
 work
 with
 researches
 on
 tools
 and
 technology
 while
 creating
 his
 own
 instruments
 and
 taking
 an
 active
 part
 in
 the
 development
 of
 Ableton Live,
 that
 is
 currently
 one
 …

#01

Eddie Ladoire

The Epi Condorcet [St-Jacques-de-la-Lande]

Eddie Ladoire’s work goes between the acoustic creation, music research and fine arts. Eddie Ladoire turns the everyday-kind-of-noises into music through numerical treatment. Thus he creates a new and intimate atmosphere with abstract and familiar components. The Epi Condorcet is …

Menu

Création #03

Félicia Atkinson

Hôtel de Rennes Métropole [Rennes]

Félicia Atkinson vit et travaille dans le massif des Bauges en Savoie. Son travail mêle l’improvisation, la contemplation et des créations in situ a travers différentes techniques : création sonore, installations, écriture ou encore peinture. Elle codirige avec Bartolomé Sanson les éditions Shelter Press et enseigne l’art à l’ESAAA (École Supérieur d’Arts de l’Agglomération d’Annecy).

L’Hôtel de Rennes Métropole est situé au sud du centre-ville de Rennes. Long de 100 mètres, ce bâtiment conçu par les architectes Patrick Berger et Jacques Anziutti, accueille depuis 2007 les services de la Communauté d’Agglomération. Rennes Métropole fut créée en 2000 et est actuellement composée de 43 communes accueillant plus de 400 000 habitants.

En octobre 2009, Félicia Atkinson a parcouru l’Hôtel de Rennes Métropole durant une semaine. Une résidence durant laquelle elle a écouté, enregistré, cartographié, monté et créé sa pièce musicale. Cette carte postale sonore évoque l’immensité du lieu qui était alors partiellement inoccupé et s’intitule Poings serrés. L’artiste évoque également « un hommage minimal, en tonalité de gris, à l’œuvre d’Aurélie Nemours et aux ciels bretons ».

Cette résidence a reçu le soutien de Rennes Métropole.

Hôtel de Rennes Métropole
4 avenue Henri Fréville – CS 20723
35207 Rennes cedex 2

Découvrez d'autres cartes sonores

#16

Nicolas Bernier

Collection d'instuments scientifiques de l'Université de Rennes 1 [Rennes]

Nicolas Bernier est un artiste pluridisciplinaire qui crée des installations et des performances sonores tout en travaillant autour de plusieurs disciplines : la danse, le théâtre ou encore le film d’animation. Au milieu de cet éclectisme, ses préoccupations artistiques restent constantes …

#07

Herman Kolgen

Gare SNCF [Rennes]

Herman Kolgen est un artiste pluridisciplinaire québécois reconnu pour ses créations audiovisuelles. Il vit et travaille à Montréal et présente ses projets à travers le monde. Il travaille activement sur la relation entre le son et l’image à travers la …

#09

Mira Calix

CADA [Rennes]

Mira Calix, de son vrai nom Chantal Passamonte, est une des rares femmes présentes sur le label anglais Warp Records, label historique et référence en matière de musiques électroniques. Installée à Londres depuis de nombreuses années, Mira Calix a su …